Justin Timberlake: Tiny Desk Concert

Stephen Thompson | March 15, 2024
Walking into the room shortly before Justin Timberlake took our cramped stage, I overheard someone on his team wondering aloud if this was to be the most densely populated Tiny Desk concert in history — which is to say, the most musicians we've ever fit in a single frame. It's not, but we don't often find a way to cram in this many human beings (15 in all) and this much gear.

Timberlake has never been one to give partial effort, but this is a production befitting the occasion: namely, a set timed to drop concurrently with the release of his new album, Everything I Thought It Was. Eschewing the rootsier feel of its predecessor, 2018's Man of the Woods, the new record is a throwback, an epic and a blowout — and so's this lavish set, which scales the Timberlake experience down to 25 minutes of maximalist celebration and, when the moment calls for it, chiller vibes.

Backed by his band The Tennessee Kids, Timberlake's Tiny Desk debut leans heavily on his early solo catalog, as he kicks it off with two songs from 2002's classic Justified and weaves in three more from 2006's magnificent FutureSex/LoveSounds — including a set-closing "SexyBack," which finds the singer trotting out a megaphone in a truly meme-worthy moment.

By the way, in case you're wondering, the all-time record for musicians behind the Tiny Desk is a whopping 23, a feat pulled off by the fantastic Mucca Pazza in 2015. But Timberlake and company rival that classic performance's energy — in both cases, the real triumph lies not in the Tetris of it all, but in the way that many people still find ways to move, buoyantly and as one mighty organism.

"Rock Your Body"
"Pusher Love Girl"
"Until The End Of Time"
"What Goes Around"

Justin Timberlake: lead vocals, guitar, keys
RaVaughn Brown: vocals
Camry: vocals
Erin Stevenson: vocals
Kenyon Dixon: vocals
Justin Gilbert: keys
Mike Reid: drums
Elliot Ives: guitar
Derrick Ray: bass
Leon Silva: saxophone
Kevin Williams: trombone, flute
Dontae Winslow: trumpet
Sean Erick: trumpet
Adam Blackstone: keys, percussion, music direction
Andrew Hypes: DJ

Producer: Bobby Carter
Director/Editor: Maia Stern
Audio Technical Director: Neil Tevault
Videographers: Maia Stern, Kara Frame, Joshua Bryant, Alanté Serene, Elizabeth Gillis
Audio Engineers: Kwesi Lee, Adam Blackstone, Danny Cheung
Production Assistant: Ashley Pointer
Photographer: Estefania Mitre
Tiny Desk Copy Editor: Hazel Cills
Executive Producer: Suraya Mohamed
Series Creators: Bob Boilen, Stephen Thompson
VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins

#justintimberlake #nprmusic #tinydesk
Posted by Cow bot in Default Category on March 17 2024 at 06:33 PM  ·  Public

Comments (0)

No login

New Videos